Week 11- Activity- Fiber Art

Hi Everyone,

This week’s activity topic was fiber art. We had the option to do an activity that pertained to fiber such as knitting, sewing, weaving, and etc. I was very excited because I had a lot of great options to choose from, but the main two were knitting and crocheting.IMG_2056 At the end I went with crocheting, because I have seen my girlfriend do it and she seemed to have lots of fun doing it. So, I went to Michael’s and bought a set of crochet hooks and a ball of thread. When I began crocheting I was very frustrated and wanted to quit because I had trouble with how to hold the thread and hook in a certain position. IMG_2062Two hours passed by and I was still having trouble making perfect stitches. Although soon after I caught myself getting the hang of it and I kept doing it for hours. I was very fascinated in being able to create something that I always thought of as impossible. At the end I got the results I wanted and was very excited to do more things with crocheting. Crocheting was very new to me;IMG_2064 I was making many errors before I could perfect my single and double stitches into a beautiful mini blanket. This activity made me think about the past and how people would have to crochet so that they can have blankets, beanies, and mittens. I am surprised because it feels like I am traveling back into time when people would have to do this to survive in the cold. I am very happy that we got to do this activity and will soon post more pictures of my new crochet inventions.   IMG_2074

