The Modern Sculpture of David

Hi Artists,

Since, the time of the Renaissance sculptures have been referred to as beauty, elegance, and provocative. I felt like I was up to the task on delivering a sculpture that people would think of as Michelangelo’s sculpture of David. Although, like many first time experiences this one would be a disaster. I went to Venice Beach and went to work right away. First, I had trouble uploading the web page of Beachart to see the steps of how to make my own version of David. Second, after 30 minutes of uploading I arrived to the page of the process of how to make a sculpture. Then, I quickly begun to dig a hole. I inserted my foot and threw sand around it. While I was mixing the water and the plaster, a huge wave came and washed my hole away. So, I had to dig another hole and by then, the plaster had already hardened. I was completely shocked and did not know what to do. I began to think “what would Michelangelo do if he was in my sandals.” So I quickly got the bucket and pour water inside of it. This caused the plaster to break apart and turn into a liquid stage. I quickly poured the liquid plaster in the hole. I waited the required time and carefully dug out my masterpiece. I soon realized that it looked like a crocodile, but my brother convinced me that it looked like my foot. Which made me feel very proud of myself.

I would like to note that although my first time making a sculpture did not go so well, that it is okay if things sometimes do not go your way. It is normal to make mistakes because its what makes us human. I would apply it to other activities in my life by making better plaster and as a result make a better sculpture. Also, by taking my time in doing each individual step. Until next time Da Vinci’s and Michelangelo’s.

IMG_1430 IMG_1432IMG_1433 IMG_1434 IMG_1443

